Sub-Articles of this page:
What is blink.cloud?
blink.cloud is a platform for securely sharing data online. The platform can be used to share information throughout any application that has access to the internet, such as emails, texts, blogs, forums, and social media. blink.cloud guarantees single exposure of message contents to the first viewer, and ensures each subsequent viewer sees 'something else.' This allows users to seemlessly 'future proof' their messages throughout other modern web applications.
What is a blink?
A blink is a small message that exists briefly amongst seemingly infinite amounts of decoy messages. A simple code describes its location and that code can be shared across the web. Anyone who knows this code can check blink.cloud for its contents. The contents are destroyed the moment the blink is accessed. All other attempts to view the message will present 'something else.' This is a detterrent mechanism designed to throw off anyone attempting to view your messages or message history in the future.
How does blink.cloud secure my messages (aka 'blinks')?
blink.cloud's underlying technology generates seemingly infinite combinations of messages and content. The platform uses standard open source encryption for communication across the web (TLS) and AES for encryption at rest. These encryption techniques, when combined with our technology, offers formidable message security making creating a blink like hiding a needle in a haystack the size of the known universe.
What's the difference between two-step and direct links?
Two-step links involve a two-step process before the message is accessed and prevents 'URL Previewing' technology, as well as automated surveillance attempts from destroying the links. direct links are extremely volatile and tools like Slack/Twitter/Fb, who all use URL previewing or prescanning, will destroy the blink before anyone has a chance to view it. If you need to share blinks across networks and you are unsure whether they prescan URLs or surveil the channel, go ahead and use the two-step link as it is your safest bet.
What's the deal with the numbers down bottom?
The platform does a few interesting things behind the scenes. Because of our unique approach to handling security, we feel it's appropriate for everyone to understand what it would take to compromise a live message in blink.cloud's data structure.
To do this, blink.cloud calculates the average time it would take to find a single one of those live messages based on current conditions. Some of these conditions include the # of live messages currently in the data structure as well as the requests per second hitting the cluster (among a few others...).
Since we couldn't find a good unit of measurement for the timescales we are dealing with here, we decided to report on how many Ages of the Universe it would take, on average, to come across one live message.
For reference, 1 Age of the Universe = ~13.799 Billion years, according to the most accurate scientific calculations currently available.
Based on that, it would take [ajax placeholder] Ages of the Universe to find a real message on blink.cloud via brute force methods. This is a long time. A really long time...
If you have suggestions for different units, we want to know! Send them to firstname.lastname@example.org.
Where are my messages being stored?
When you create a blink, the contents are securely stored within blink.cloud's database using a blink ID. The first time anything (browser, messaging tool, social media app, etc.) requests access to the contents of your blink, the message is simultaneously returned to whomever is viewing it and destroyed. No messages are ever copied, archived, or backed up. Once they are viewed, they cannot be recovered. If you forgot your blink ID or lost it, you most likely will never find it again.
How long will my yet to be viewed, a.k.a. 'live' blinks be available?
Your blinks are available and stored until something (browser, messaging tool, social media app, etc.) views them. If you need to take them down, just follow the link and it will permanently destroy the contents. If you forget your blink ID, you will likely never be able to find it again :( (see the FAQ about the Ages of the Universe).
Can anyone except for the person to whom I send the blink access my blinks?
Anyone, man or machine, with access to the internet, can access the contents of a blink without ANY authenticaltion or authorization. However, due to the amount of randomness in the system, it is computationally infeasible to 'guess' the blink ID, even with billions of concurrent attemps. Therefore, the only plausible way to compromise a blink is to know what the blink ID is as well as possess the capability to access it before the intended recipient. This requires information that can only be obtained via a compromised system. E.g., If your blinks are being destroyed before your receiver can read them, then something is watching...
How do I know my blinks have been viewed?
To protect your privacy, blink.cloud, has been designed to not maintain this information. Confirmation of successful message retrieval must be done through phone, text, email, chat tool, etc.
One of blink's special features is that it WILL let your recipient know the channel is insecure as they will be alerted to receiving a garbled message.
We recommend that the first message (or two) that you send be test messages without any sensitive information. Once you have established that the messages are coming through to your recipient intact.
How do I share my blink(s)?
When you create a blink you can copy the URL to your clipboard, and you can share that URL with anyone you like. After the URL is viewed, the link will always remain active but the original contents will be destroyed once viewed and replaced each time the URL is accessed. You can test this by creating a blink, viewing it yourself, and then reloading the same page on your browser.
What kind of media types are supported?
blink.cloud has been designed from the ground up to support all forms of digital media, however, the initial launch of the platform and product suite will only support text-based content. This may be a bummer to some, but it will allow us to properly grow and scale our infrastructure and will allow us to incorporate additional content clusters in a way that will not affect the performance of the technology or the experience for our users.
Is my user ID associated with the blinks I create?
No! The only thing blink.cloud requires to create a blink is a message, e.g., each blink is a box, and all it needs is something to put in it, that's it! No logging is ever performed. For more information on our approach to privacy, please check out our privacy statement.